Captain Phillips Movie Review

Posted: October 25, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Image

I love movie trailers.  When I go to the movies, I try to get there 5-10 minutes earlier just to enjoy the full cinematic experience of watching the trailers in the movie theater.  I have the Trailers app on my iPhone and will plan seeing a movie once I see a good trailer.  

This was decidedly NOT the case with Captain Phillips.  I am a huge Tom Hanks fan and enjoy a good movie with some action in it.  However, the trailer for Captain Phillips was definitely lacking.  It seemed more like a drawn out hostage negotiation type of movie with really creepy-looking villains than a movie that could keep your full attention for 2 hours and 15 minutes.  I had a few conversations about the movies with family and friends and everyone had the same mindset.  “I love Tom Hanks, but that movie just does not appeal to me”.  

I did become slightly intrigued in the movie once I heard that “Captain Phillips” had received a 94% Fresh rating on Rotten Tomatoes.  My interest level spiked however when my parents offered to treat my wife and I to the movies and dinner.  Just like the saying that food tastes better when it’s free, a movie is better when it’s paid for by someone else.  So I will fully admit that I would not have seen this movie if my lovely parental units did not pay for my ticket.  I am very happy that they did.

Captain Phillips is based on a true story of a hijacking off the coast of Somalia.  I did not follow the story closely when it happened in 2009, but I do remember hearing about some of it on the news (likely on in the background as I mindlessly wandered the internet).  Without giving away any spoilers, I will say that the movie had a decent flow to it and made you care about the characters, despite only knowing them for a short time.  There is a good amount of action and it does a good job opening your eyes to the Somali piracy world.  The movie was much more gripping than the trailer would have you believe and Tom Hanks puts on an acting clinic yet again.  I was just blown away by Hanks’ last scene in the movie.  Even though movies are ridiculously expensive and losing their luster to other entertainment options, I sincerely recommend seeing “Captain Phillips” if you are looking for something to do on a slow fall night.

Rating: 7.75/10

Leave a Reply

