Queen and Adam Lambert Announce 2014 Summer Tour. Do I Go?

Posted: March 7, 2014 in Music, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Image

Rolling Stone-  Adam Lambert will join Queen on a 19-date North American tour kicking off June 19th at Chicago’s United Center and wrapping up July 20th at Washington D.C.’s Merriweather Post Pavilion. While Lambert has appeared with current Queen members Brian May and Roger Taylor at numerous shows, this will be the singer’s first official tour with the group. The trio first appeared together in 2009 to perform “We Are the Champions” during American Idol before teaming up again in 2011 to perform “The Show Must Go On,” “We Will Rock You” and “We Are the Champions” at the MTV European Music Awards.

In 2012, Lambert joined the group again for a series of shows throughout Europe. In a press conference held this morning at Madison Square Garden, May explained the difference between this tour and the band’s collaboration with former Bad Company frontman Paul Rodgers. “It was great with Paul, but it came to a natural end,” said May. “This happened organically with Adam. People are going to ask whether it’s Queen without Freddie. I don’t know. We just want to go out there one more time. Adam isn’t an imitator. We’re going into new territory.” 

Well this is interesting.  There are 5 artists/bands I have never seen in concert that really bums me out.  They are Biggie, 2Pac, Queen, The Beatles, and Michael Jackson.  Quite a range there.  Obviously the common denominator is that most of the people on that list are dead.  And the people that are alive cannot truly replace the ones who died.  So I guess I have to make a decision on whether seeing a Mercury-less Queen is worth my time and money.  I saw Journey in concert a few years ago and I was blown away by how much Arnel Pineda sounded like Steve Perry.  Real good show and I left feeling like I saw the closest thing to Journey without actually seeing Steve Perry live.  I barely know anything about Adam Lambert, but after seeing a few Youtube clips, I know you are not getting a Mercury voice clone.  I have a feeling I will not be able to escape the feeling that I am just watching Adam Lambert attempting to cover Queen songs.  So lets open this up for vote:

 

In related news, Freddy Mercury was the God damn man.

In semi-related news, I once worked with a guy who performed in the National Air Guitar Championships under the name Shreddy Mercury.

Leave a Reply

