Will A Keith Hernandez Seinfeld Themed Bobblehead Alter My 4th Of July Plans?

Posted: April 16, 2014 in Baseball, Mets, Sports, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

mlb_Hernandezbobble_kh_600x400

ESPN- In honor of the 25th anniversary of the first “Seinfeld” show, the New York Mets‘ Single-A affiliate in Brooklyn will host “Seinfeld Night” in July.

The first 2,500 fans in attendance on July 5 will receive a Keith Hernandez “Magic Loogie” bobblehead, commemorating the episode where Kramer and Newman accused the former Mets first baseman of spitting at them at a game.

Seinfeld famously defended Hernandez by introducing the “Magic Loogie Theory.” The episode was in 1992, but the original pilot, called “Seinfeld Chronicles,” first aired on July 5, 1989.

During the game, the team will become Vandelay Industries Park, named for the latex company George Costanza tells the unemployment office he might work for. The Cyclones say that anyone who can present a legitimate business card that shows they are a latex salesman will get in for free.

Thanks to Newman, mailmen in uniform will throw out the first pitch. Fans will have a chance to take part in an eating contest featuring cereal, Jerry’s favorite food, and there will be a dancing contest where fans will try to dance just like Elaine. To commemorate one of Jerry’s most awkward moments, the Cyclones will wear puffy shirts during batting practice.

This is the most bittersweet news I could EVER imagine.  This Seinfeld episode is my favorite episode of all-time, Keith Hernandez is among my favorite humans of all-time, and my fantasy baseball team is named Keith Hernandez with my logo being the exact same pose as this bobblehead.  Now usually I could convince myself to drive two hours to the slums of Brooklyn just to get a bobblehead.  Hell, I’m the guy who wrote a 1500 word post on the 2014 Mets promotions.  FYI, this would be number one with a bullet on that list if it was a Mets giveaway.  But I was really hoping to go away to some sort of beach that weekend.  I also have to take into account the legit possibility that my wife may divorce me if I choose a bobblehead over a holiday vacation.  So I get a bobblehead, but lose half of my possessions.  Worth it?  I’ll let you know.

So lets put it up to a vote.

PS-  Naming the stadium Vandelay Industries Park?  Mailmen throwing out the first pitch?  A cereal eating contest?  And puffy shirts?  Someone in the marketing department deserves a god damn raise.

Leave a Reply

