Rest In Peace Joseph Takagi (For Real This Time)

Posted: July 29, 2014 in Die Hard, Movies
Tags: , , , ,

Shigata-Diehard

The Independent-  James Shigeta, the famed character actor who played memorable roles in Die Hard (1988) and musical Flower Drum Song (1961) has died.  “It is with great sadness that I report the loss of my long-time friend and client James Shigeta,” his agent said in a statement to E! News yesterday.

It’s just a shame that this had to happen to Mr. Takagi.  Joseph Yoshinobu Takagi.  Born: Kyoto, 1937.  Family emigrated to San Pedro, California, 1939.  Interned at Manzanar: 1942 to 1943.  Scholarship student: University of California, 1955.  Law degree: Stanford, 1962.  MBA: Harvard, 1970.  President: Nakatomi Trading.  Vice Chairman: Nakatomi Investment Group.  And father of five.

I know this is part of getting older, but I don’t think I am ready to start saying goodbye to the actors of Die Hard.  I had Takagi ranked at number 12 in my Die Hard Character Power Rankings.  Shigeta took a bullet through the head for his craft and still lived for another 26 years.  That’s incredible.

They say these things happen in threes.  So watch your back Al Powell and Ms. Gennaro.  Look both ways before crossing the street, Argyle.  And I don’t even want to think of a world without John McClane or Hans Gruber.

PS- I found this gem while messing around with my Google machine.  This is the only good thing LinkedIn has ever produced.

takagi

h/t to Z-Man

Leave a Reply

